A Boy Called Noise (2006-2009)

Actor / Award-winning / Musician / Playwright

A Boy Called Noise is a one-woman rock theater show set in small-town East Texas. It tells the story of a fictional gay teenager called Noise, who is murdered and martyred. We meet his father, mother, sister, lover and best friend on the day of Noise’s funeral, as they confront themselves, Noise’s killers, and the memory of Noise himself.

Written and performed by: Julia Steele Allen
Live Music: drums, guitar, harmonica and additional vocals by Ray Rizzo
Directed by: Ian R. Crawford
Cover Image and Musical Support by: Dwayne Calizo

  • San Francisco Fringe Festival – Winner: “Best New Performer” (2006)
  • 45th Street Theater, NYC
  • The Tank at Chashama, NYC
  • The Downtown Urban Theater Festival, HERE Arts Center, NYC – Winner: “Best Short Play” (2009)
  • Hot Fest, Dixon Place, NYC
  • Wise Fool, Santa Fe, NM
  • Motherlodge, Louisville, KY


Songs from A Boy Called Noise

In 2010, Ray and Julia recorded the song soundtrack of A Boy Called Noise at Saltlands Studios in Brooklyn. Recorded by Steve Salett and Jim Smith.

Sung by Julia Steele Allen and Ray Rizzo
Ray Rizzo on drums, guitar, harmonica
Additional guitar by Owen Taylor and Steve Salett

BUY the CD or DOWNLOAD the songs.

  1. Noise Was A Child Of Mine (Cindy Lou – Noise’s Mother)
  2. Fishbone (Fishbone – Noise’s Boyfriend)
  3. What Love Can Do (One-Eyed Jack – Noise’s Father)
  4. Small Town (Hurricane Alicia – Noise’s Sister)
  5. Sinner (Cindy Lou)
  6. Stars (Beth-Ann – Noise’s Best Friend)
  7. Last Stop